Sustainability

We support you in developing business-oriented sustainability strategies and innovative sustainable processes, business models and products, anchoring sustainability effectively in your company over the long term and achieving market success through creative communication. Together with you and our other clients, we help to accelerate the transformation to a more sustainable economy and society.

Legal regulations create pressure to take action

Legal reporting obligations on sustainability are intensifying - from the new EU directive on corporate sustainability reporting and the new Supply Chain Sustainability Act to the EmpCO and other planned regulations such as the Green Claims Regulation.

The companies affected face numerous challenges: In order to meet the regulatory requirements, they must develop a sustainability strategy, install complex performance measurement systems and avoid green washing in their communications. The complexities of ESG legislation affect numerous topics, including environmental issues such as CO2 emissions and resource efficiency, social issues such as diversity and gender equality, and governance issues such as business ethics and corruption.

Discovering opportunities for economic success in sustainability

However, these bureaucratic reporting obligations do not yet create a transformation of our economy and society. However, companies that not only meet the legal requirements but also make the sustainability strategy an inherent part of their business strategy can win over sustainability-oriented stakeholders such as talent, investors and customers and tap into new market and customer segments.  

Optimized processes can reduce costs and thus compensate for the bureaucratic regulatory burden.

We support and accompany you holistically throughout this complex and demanding process. 

Why Waechter?

Sustainability communication was already a concern for us when hardly anyone had the topic on their radar. We see sustainability first and foremost as an opportunity for economic success. That's why we look at sustainability from a business perspective and contribute our creative ideas to the process and communication.

Our team also brings a wide range of expertise to the table - whether from HR, organizational development, psychology, creativity methods, strategy or science. These complement our experience in communication, brand development and numerous transformation projects.

Proven collaborations with specialists round off our portfolio of solutions, as does our global orientation through the Worldwide Partners Network.

What's the point?

As creative trusted advisors, we work with you to develop economically successful sustainability strategies. We anchor sustainability in brand identity and organization, using a transformation process combining sustainability, customer centricity, and digitalization.

With our change approach, we overcome internal barriers and involve key stakeholders in the overall process. Ideas developed in Ideation Labs and well-structured innovation processes help in the transformation to a sustainable company and in the development of business-relevant sustainable business models.

We find a way through the maze of legal regulations and help you succeed with transparent and inspiring communication. Our holistic approach focuses on lean processes and efficiency, but above all on your business success and effectiveness.

Meeting legal reporting obligations

An honest status report can only be created at the end of this extensive process. This fulfills both an accountability and information function. It provides an overview of your company's sustainability efforts and supplements the annual financial statements by describing business performance and results, looking at future prospects and analyzing opportunities and risks.

We support you in the early planning of the publication with a focus on the annual financial statements and on the convincing communicative preparation of the collected information by ensuring that we inform the stakeholders successfully. We also help you to derive sustainability targets and measures for subsequent years.

The result can be a factual report or a creatively crafted communication tool that inspires and excites employees, customers and stakeholders alike.

Creative sustainability communication

As a company's sustainability efforts are also becoming increasingly important for talent, investors and customers, successful communication plays a key role. It mitigates reputational risks, informs and inspires and gets people excited about sustainable action. That's why we create formats that convey complex interrelationships clearly and create aha moments that leave a lasting impression. We design creative brand communication without greenwashing - as we have done for 40 years for many clients in the energy, construction, food, mobility, pharmaceutical and social organization sectors.

Nachhaltigkeit bei Wächter

Nachhaltigkeit bei Wächter

Services

We prefer to offer the following services as a holistic process, but we also offer individual modules, always keeping your business goals in mind.  

We start the project with a joint workshop. We will work on the following topics:

  • Introduction: What criteria does sustainability include (Ecological+Social+Governance, SDG )
  • Legal requirements
  • Maturity level assessment
  • Sustainability process and strategy development
  • Project goals and KPIs
  • Responsibilities and roles in the teams involved
  • Collecting the stakeholder commitments
  • Project plan & roadmap
  • Budget presentation

The priority analysis examines which sustainability issues are most important for the company and where the greatest impact can be achieved. This answers the question of how sustainability aspects affect the company and what the company can influence. The strategy involves prioritizing goals and defining measurement criteria.

  • Status quo and ESG maturity analysis
  • Desk research
  • Benchmark studies
  • Stakeholder interviews
  • Inside/out materiality analysis, dual materiality
  • Conflicting objectives, risk and opportunity assessment (SWOT, SVIDT)
  • Mission, Vision, Werte, realistische Ziele und Messkriterien
  • Hierarchy of objectives (SMART-ROI)
  • Integration of the strategy into the business and marketing strategy
  • Transformation roadmap

Corporate culture, attitude and corporate governance play a key role in the successful implementation of a sustainability strategy within a company. We support this process as coaches and moderators with inspiring moderation and clear communication of the complex topic in a way that is understandable for all target groups. We use interactive formats to involve the relevant stakeholders and thus ensure that the sustainability strategy and the associated attitude are firmly anchored within the company. In this way, we can take people with us and inspire them on the path to greater sustainability.

  • Participation in the analysis & strategy process
  • Workshops
  • Education incl. train the trainer
  • Moderation & coaching

In order to leverage the full business potential of the sustainability strategy, we initiate innovation processes, organize creative ideation labs and scenario workshops and provide targeted support in the implementation of innovation projects as part of cross-departmental activities. We work together with all those involved on the following topics:

  • Product and process improvements from a sustainability perspective
  • Development of new products and business areas
  • Specific sustainability projects
  • Suggestion scheme, idea clouds
  • Prototyping

We advise on the selection of certification and IT partnerships as well as on the selection and implementation of sustainability tools. In performance workshops, we clarify which data and key figures are required and what challenges are to be expected when collecting them. As part of performance management, we provide support on the following topics:

  • Definition of standards in accordance with European Sustainability Reporting Standards (ESRS) or Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
  • Collection and analysis of data
  • Real-time data collection on greenhouse gas balance, synchronization/integration and preparation for regulatory purposes
  • Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD)
  • Greenhouse gas footprint
  • Climate protection and compensation
  • Data collection and compilation (supply chain, social, personnel and compliance data)
  • Certification according to DNK, common good balance sheet or B-Corp

Only if process optimizations, new business models or sustainable products are accompanied by transparent, credible and convincing communication can they develop their full potential and thus contribute to growth and business success. We do it for you:

  • Communication strategies including media and tool selection
  • Concept development for internal and external communication
  • Employer branding
  • Development of creative key ideas and campaigns
  • Crisis and risk communication

Let
us
talk

Nachhaltigkeit

Wir unterstützen Sie darin, businessorientierte Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien und innovative nachhaltige Prozesse, Geschäftsmodelle und Produkte zu entwickeln, sowie Nachhaltigkeit langfristig und wirksam im Unternehmen zu verankern und mit kreativer Kommunikation Markterfolge zu erreichen. So tragen wir zusammen mit Ihnen und unseren anderen Kund:innen dazu bei, die Transformation zu einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft zu beschleunigen.

Gesetzliche Vorgaben schaffen Handlungsdruck

Die rechtlichen Berichtspflichten zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit nehmen zu – von der neuen EU-Richtlinie zur Unternehmens-Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung über das neue Lieferkettensorgfaltsgesetz bis hin zur EmpCO und weiteren geplanten, wie die Green Claims Verordnung.

Betroffene Unternehmen stehen vor zahlreiche Herausforderungen: Um den regulativen Anforderungen Genüge zu tun, müssen sie eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie entwickeln, aufwendige Performance Messsysteme installieren und in ihrer Kommunikation Green Washing vermeiden.  Die komplexe Sachlage der ESG-Gesetze betrifft zahlreiche Themen, ökologische wie CO2-Emissionen und Ressourceneffizienz, soziale wie Diversität oder Geschlechtergerechtigkeit und Governance wie Geschäftsethik oder Korruption.

In Nachhaltigkeit Chancen für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg entdecken

Allerdings schaffen diese bürokratischen Reportingpflichten noch keinen Umbau unserer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Wer jedoch nicht nur die rechtlichen Anforderungen erfüllt, sondern die Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zu einem inhärenten Teil der Businessstrategie macht, kann nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Stakeholder wie Talente, Investor:innen oder Kund:innen von sich überzeugen und neue Markt- und Kundensegmente erschließen.  

Verbesserte Prozesse können Kosten senken und so die bürokratischen Regulationsaufwände kompensieren.

Wir unterstützen und begleiten Sie ganzheitlich bei diesem komplexen und anspruchsvollen Prozess. 

Warum Wächter?

Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation war uns schon ein Anliegen, als noch kaum jemand das Thema auf der Rechnung hatte. Wir sehen dabei in Nachhaltigkeit in erster Linie die Chancen für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Deshalb betrachten wir Nachhaltigkeit aus der Businessperspektive und bringen unsere kreativen Ideen im Prozess und in der Kommunikation ein.

Unser Team bringt zudem vielfältige Expertisen ein – ob aus HR, Organisationsentwicklung, Psychologie, Kreativitätsmethoden, Strategie oder Wissenschaft.  Diese ergänzen unsere Erfahrungen aus Kommunikation, Markenentwicklung und zahlreichen Transformationsprojekten.

Erprobte Kollaborationen mit Spezialisten komplettieren unser Lösungsportfolio ebenso wie unsere globale Ausrichtung durch das Worldwide Partners Netzwerk.

Was bringt das?

Als kreative Trusted Advisors erarbeiten wir mit Ihnen wirtschaftlich erfolgreiche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien. Wir verankern Nachhaltigkeit in Markenidentität und Organisation, am kostengünstigsten als kombinierte Nachhaltigkeits-, Kunden- oder Qualitätsorientierung in Verbindung mit einer Digitalisierungstransformation.

Mit unserem Change-Ansatz überwinden wir interne Barrieren und binden wichtige Stakeholder in den Gesamtprozess ein. In Ideation Labs entwickelte Ideen und gut strukturierte Innovationsprozesse helfen beim Umbau zum nachhaltigen Unternehmen und bei der Entwicklung von businessrelevanten nachhaltigen Geschäftsmodellen.

Wir finden einen Weg durch den Dschungel der gesetzlichen Regulierungsvorschriften und verhelfen Ihnen mit transparenter und zugleich inspirierender Kommunikation zum Erfolg. Bei unserem ganzheitlichen Ansatz stehen schlanke Prozesse und Effizienz, aber vor allem Ihr Geschäftserfolg und Effektivität im Zentrum.

Erfüllung der gesetzlichen Reportingpflichten

Erst am Ende dieses umfangreichen Prozesses kann ein ehrlicher Lagebericht stehen. Dieser hat sowohl Rechenschafts- als auch Informationsfunktion. Er gibt einen Gesamtüberblick über die Nachhaltigkeitsanstrengungen Ihres Unternehmens und ergänzt den Jahresabschluss, indem er Geschäftsverlauf und -ergebnis beschreibt, Zukunftsaussichten betrachtet und Chancen und Risiken analysiert.

Wir unterstützen Sie bei der frühzeitigen Planung der Veröffentlichung mit Blick auf den Jahresabschluss und bei der überzeugenden kommunikativen Aufbereitung der gesammelten Informationen, indem wir sicherstellen, dass die Informationsbedürfnisse der Stakeholder erfolgreich adressiert werden. Wir helfen außerdem bei der Ableitung von Nachhaltigkeitszielen und -maßnahmen für die Folgejahre.

Das Ergebnis kann ein sachlicher Bericht sein oder aber ein kreativ aufbereitetes Kommunikationsinstrument, das Mitarbeiter:innen, Kund:innen und Stakeholder gleichermaßen inspiriert und begeistert.

Kreative Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation

Da auch für Talente, Investor:innen und Kund:innen die Nachhaltigkeitsanstrengungen eines Unternehmens immer wichtiger werden, spielt erfolgreiche Kommunikation eine Schlüsselrolle. Sie federt Reputationsrisiken ab, informiert und inspiriert und begeistert Menschen für nachhaltiges Handeln. Deshalb schaffen wir Formate, die komplexe Zusammenhänge anschaulich vermitteln und Aha-Momente kreieren, die einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen. Wir gestalten kreative Markenkommunikation ohne Greenwashing –  so wie  schon seit 40 Jahren für viele Kunden aus den Bereichen Energie, Bau, Food, Mobility, Pharma und Soziale Organisationen.

Nachhaltigkeit bei Wächter

Nachhaltigkeit bei Wächter

Leistungen

Wir bieten am liebsten die folgenden Leistungen als ganzheitlichen Prozess an, aber auch einzelne Module, dabei behalten wir jedoch immer ihre Businessziele im Blick.  

Mit einem gemeinsamen Workshop starten wir in das Projekt. Dabei erarbeiten wir folgende Themen:

  • Einführung: Welche Kriterien umfasst Nachhaltigkeit (Ecological+Social+Governance, SDG )
  • Gesetzliche Anforderungen
  • Reifegradeinschätzung
  • Nachhaltigkeits-Prozess und Strategieentwicklung
  • Projektziele u. KPI´s
  • Verantwortlichkeiten und Rollen in den beteiligten Teams
  • Einholung des GF-Committments
  • Projektplan & Roadmap
  • Budgetvorstellung

Mit der Wesentlichkeitsanalyse wird geprüft, welche Nachhaltigkeitsthemen für das Unternehmen am wichtigsten sind und wo die größte Wirkung erzielt werden kann. Dabei wird die Frage beantwortet, wie Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte auf das Unternehmen einwirken und worauf das Unternehmen Einfluss nehmen kann. Bei der Strategie werden Ziele priorisiert und Messkriterien festgelegt.

  • Status Quo und ESG-Reifegrad Analyse
  • Desk Research
  • Benchmark Studien
  • Stakeholder Interviews
  • Inside/Out Wesentlichkeitsanalyse, doppelte Materialität
  • Zielkonflikte, Risiken- und Chancenbewertung (SWOT, SVIDT)
  • Mission, Vision, Werte, realistische Ziele und Messkriterien
  • Zielhierarchie (SMART-ROI)
  • Integration der Strategie in Business- und Marketingstrategie
  • Transformationsroadmap

Unternehmenskultur, Haltung und Corporate Governance spielen eine Schlüsselrolle für eine erfolgreich im Unternehmen implementierte Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie. Wir unterstützen in diesem Prozess als Coaches und Moderatoren mit inspirierender Moderation und klarer, für alle Zielgruppen verständlichen Vermittlung des komplexen Themas. Mit Beteiligungsformaten involvieren wir die relevanten Stakeholder und sorgen so für die Verankerung der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und der damit einhergehenden Haltung im Unternehmen. So können wir Menschen auf dem Weg zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit mitnehmen und begeistern.

  • Beteiligung am Analyse- & Strategieprozess
  • Workshops
  • Bildung inkl. Train the trainer
  • Moderation & Coaching

Um das volle Business-Potenzial der Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zu heben, stoßen wir Innovationsprozesse an, führen kreative Ideation-Labs und Szenario-Workshops durch und unterstützen gezielt im Rahmen von abteilungsübergreifenden Aktionen bei der Durchsetzung von Innovationsvorhaben. Dabei arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit allen Beteiligten an folgenden Themen:

  • Produkt- und Prozessverbesserungen unter Nachhaltigkeitsgesichtspunkten
  • Entwicklung von neuen Produkten und Geschäftsfeldern
  • Konkrete Nachhaltigkeits-Projekte
  • Vorschlagswesen, Ideenclouds
  • Prototyping

Wir beraten zur Auswahl von Zertifizierungs- und IT- Partnerschaften sowie bei der Auswahl und Implementierung von Nachhaltigkeitstools. In Performance-Workshops klären wir, welche Daten und Kennzahlen gefordert sind und welche Herausforderungen bei der Erhebung zu erwarten sind. Im Rahmen des Performancemanagements unterstützen wir bei folgenden Themen:

  • Definition von Standards nach European Sustainability Reporting Standards (ESRS) oder Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)
  • Erfassung und Analyse von Daten
  • RealTime–Datensammlung zu Treibhausgasbilanz, Synchronisation/Integration und Aufbereitung für Regulatorik
  • Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD)
  • Treibhausgasbilanz
  • Klimaschutz und Kompensation
  • Datensammlung und -erhebung (Lieferketten-, Sozial-, Personal- und Compliancedaten
  • Zertifizierung nach DNK, Gemeinwohlbilanz oder B-Corp

Nur wenn Prozessoptimierungen, neue Geschäftsmodelle oder nachhaltige Produkte von transparenter, glaubwürdiger und überzeugendender Kommunikation begleitet werden, können sie ihr volles Potenzial entfalten und so zu Wachstum und Geschäftserfolg beitragen. Wir übernehmen für Sie:

  • Kommunikationsstrategien inkl. Medien und Toolauswahl
  • Konzeptentwicklung für die interne und externe Kommunikation
  • Employer Branding
  • Entwicklung kreativer Leitideen und Kampagnen
  • Krisen- und Risikokommunikation

Wir
sollten
reden?